BP1 Trello

In looking for emerging technologies to discuss and share on Ask Seek Learn, I was recommended to check out Trello. Trello is a web application that allows users to organize  and share just about anything on its virtual whiteboard. The more I looked into Trello, the more I realized how powerful and useful this simple web application could be in any environment but particularly in an educational environment.

Here are my notes on Trello based on its usability, navigation, reliability, privacy options, and cost.

Usability

This is the area in which Trello shines. Trello is simple to use from signing up for the application to creating a Trello board.  I was quickly able to create a Trello board in a matter of minutes. Trello is also a responsive web application meaning the application is able to intelligently adjust its user interface to fit the display screen of any device. The experience users get on their laptop in Trello is the same experience they get on their mobile devices.

Navigation

Trello is an intuitive application that quickly turns novice users into power users. The navigation is responsible for this quick and early adoption by users. Trello provides obvious visual cues to add a card, create a list, and to share a board with others. Every navigational element and function is available on single page which allows users to quickly manipulate their Trello board.

Reliability

Trello claims to be disaster proof and even goes as far as saying they are able to withstand a Godzilla attack. Trello allows users to see updates from members of their Trello board in realtime. Being a new user to Trello, reliability is something that needs to be tried and tested, but at first use there did not seem to be any issues at all.

Content

Users are in complete control of the content on Trello. Trello can be a list of things to do, flash cards, a virtual bulletin board and more. Trello is only limited by the users’ imagination.

Privacy Options

Trello defaults to making a board private. This is added security to make sure that what users create is not publicly consumed without their  intentional permission. Trello gives users three options on privacy. Users can make their board private, assign a board to an organization for collaboration, or give permission for the entire public to see their board and make it searchable by search engines.

Cost

The amazing thing about Trello is that it is completely free to use right now. I imagine that such an application will eventually have a cost associated with it, but Trello contends on its website that is free, now and forever. Hopefully, this is true and Trello will not fill up users’ boards with silly advertisements as a result of the application being free to make ends meet.

I really enjoyed my experience using Trello. I created a board for school assignments that I need to complete and assigned due dates to each card on the lists. As I start an assignment I simply drag a card from the ‘To Do’ column/list to the the ‘Doing’ column. I drag a card from ‘Doing’ to ‘Done’ when an assignment is complete. This allows me to keep a visual record of what I need to do, what I am doing, and what I have done throughout the week. Also, with Trello being a responsive web application, this allows me to take my Trello board with me wherever I go. Thanks Trello!

Leave a comment